top of page

Cooking Through "The Baker's Man": Forget-Me-Not Cookies

There are several legends surrounding the naming of the flower Forget-Me-Not, each one romantic and lovely in its own way. In one German legend, it is said that as God was naming all of the plants, one tiny blue flower did not want to be overlooked, so the flower called out, “Forget me not, Lord.”

Another legend says that wearers of the flower would not be forgotten by their lovers. A medieval legend tells of a knight and his lady who walked along a riverside. The knight leaned down to pick forget-me-nots and the weight of his armor caused him to fall into the river. As he was drowning, he tossed the flowers to his lady, calling, “Forget me not.”

Chapter 18 in The Baker’s Man is titled Forget-Me-Not Cookies. Anna has said quite a few good-byes by this time, and there is one particular person she does not want to forget her. If Anna were living in medieval times, she would grab a bouquet of forget-me-nots and hand them to her knight. But since she lives in Mystic Water and owns a bakery, she does the next best thing. She bakes cookies.

Forget-Me-Not Cookies

Serves: 24 cookies

Difficulty Level: Easy if you can ignore baking cookies


2 egg whites

½ c sugar

⅛ tsp salt

1 c dark chocolate chips

½ tsp vanilla

How to Make

  1. Set the oven rack in the middle position. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

  2. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

  3. Place egg whites in the bowl of a standing mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Whip until foamy.

  4. Gradually add sugar, and beat until stiff but not dry.

  5. Fold in salt, chocolate chips, and vanilla.

  6. Drop by teaspoons onto baking sheets. Place in preheated oven. Close door and turn off oven.

  7. Do not open door. Keep cookies in oven for 4-6 hours or overnight until cool.

  8. Peel cookies carefully from parchment paper.

The Baker's Man can be purchased in paperback or for the Kindle from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iBooks, and other major retailers.​

Chapter 1: Peanut Brittle

Chapter 2: Rum Cake

Chapter 4: Mudslide Cookies

Chapter 7: Blueberry Pie

Chapter 8: Lady Fingers

Chapter 9: Mirror Glaze

Chapter 11: Bear Claws

Chapter 16: Sugar Cookies

bottom of page