top of page

Acerca de

Average April
Coming April 2, 2024!

From the bestselling author Jennifer Moorman comes a heartfelt short story about bravery, kindness, and finding the path toward your dreams.


April Chandler wakes up one ordinary Saturday morning to find her apartment flooded and lukewarm lake water sloshing over her bed. She can’t imagine a worse predicament. After being caught in an Atlantic riptide during childhood, April is terrified of deep water. 

Option one is a full-blown panic attack. Option two requires her to put her three dogs and her parakeet into a rickety rowboat and paddle to dry land. But along the way she must also rescue a lost cat and a stranded neighbor, who is accompanied by an ornery dog. Can April row everyone to safety without capsizing a rickety rowboat? Will her unexpected gift with animals keep the passengers calm?

 

In this Mystic Water Series short story, April learns that blessings can come out of devastating circumstances. Companion piece to A Slice of Courage Quiche (Mystic Water Book 3).

AverageApril_REV.png
Quote 1.png

Average April is a delightful story! April is extraordinary in my book. As an animal lover, this story warms my heart, and I love how the narrative flows.
I want an entire novel about April, Mr. Edwards, and the pet shop!
—Dawne McCurry, Early Reader & member of the Friends & Fiction Book Club

Quote 2.png

Full Praise for the Mystic Water Series

"The Baker's Man is a charming recipe of magic, romance, friendship, and the importance of staying true to yourself."
—Heather Webber, USA TODAY bestselling author of Midnight at the Blackbird Café

"The Baker's Man hits my sweet spot with mouthwatering baked goods and an enchanting romance. Jennifer Moorman's scrumptious tale has all the magical ingredients: best friend banter, small town drama, and the mysterious arrival of the perfect man!"
—Amy E. Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake

 

"Combine four parts love, two parts excitement, a dash of humor, and a pinch of magic and you have Jennifer Moorman's delightful The Baker's Man. Moorman's sweet, heartfelt confection will please anyone looking for a charming, witty, utterly delectable read!"

—Lauren K. Denton, USA TODAY bestselling author of The Hideaway and A Place to Land

"Jennifer Moorman's The Baker's Man is a teaspoon of love, a dash of magic, and a whole heaping cup of Southern charm. Anna's legacy of unconventional romance and luscious baked goods is a treat from start to finish. Perfect for fans of Amy E. Reichert and Jenny Colgan."
—Aimie K. Runyan, bestselling author of The School for German Brides and The Memory of Lavender and Sage

 

In the world of magical realism, Jennifer Moorman is an important new voice. She is a sensitive, engaging, quirky, and soulful storyteller. Her characters speak their truths only to inspire us, the reader, to embrace and respect our own true gifts.  As a lifelong fan of Alice Hoffman, I am adding Jennifer to a short list of writers who can carry the torch forward to a new generation. —Jane Ubell-Meyer, Founder of Bedside Reading

 

The Necessity of Lavender Tea has the delicate magical allure and heartwarming storyline that make a truly memorable coming-of-age classic. In this inspiring tale, Jennifer Moorman takes us on Kate Muir’s tender journey through profound loss and budding love, and guides her to trust in the transforming power of her choices when she’s faced with a troubling vision. Readers looking for a vibrant splash of Southern charm will fall in love with Moorman’s vividly painted Mystic Water and the wise, whispering nature and compelling characters who inhabit it. —Jeanne Arnold, Bestselling author of the young adult Stubborn series

 

A sweet, magical coming-of-age tale about the best and hardest parts of love and friendship and family.
—Amy Impellizzeri, Award-winning Author of Lemongrass Hope and I Know How This Ends

What can I say about the world Jennifer Moorman has created in her series about the inhabitants of the town of Mystic Water? I was moved to tears when I finished reading The Necessity of Lavender Tea. Jennifer writes so beautifully about life and love, growing up and trying to fit in. Sprinkled with just the right amount of magic, this heartwarming second book in the series, will bring you to tears as you become one with Kate as she struggles through hiding her ability to see the future, the pain of wanting to belong, love, and the awkwardness of being different. The book leaves you wanting to visit Mystic Water again and again. —Elisa Fershtadt, Hospitality Public Relations Consultant

Mystic Water Series

The Baker's Man Jennifer Moorman
The Baker's Man
Book 1
The Necessity of Lavender Tea, Mystic Water Series, Jennifer Moorman
The Necessity of
Lavender Tea

Book 2
A Slice of Courage Quiche, Mystic Water Series, Jennifer Moorman
A Slice of
Courage Quiche

Book 3
AverageApril_REV.png
Average April
Short Story
bottom of page