top of page

Cooking Through "The Baker's Man": Ooey Gooey Butter Cake

The American writer Anais Nin said, “Throw your dreams into space like a kite, and you do not know what it will bring back, a new life, a new friend, a new love, a new country.” In one of the final chapters of The Baker’s Man, Anna has reached a point in her life when she must riffle through the mess and find her dreams. It’s time she tossed them into space.

Anna is lucky enough to have people around her who love her and support her. She has friends and family, and she even has the whole town of Mystic Water. They’ve rallied around her and have even brought her sweets of their own making just to remind her that she’s not alone.

In Chapter 17, titled Ooey Gooey Butter Cake, Anna begins to repair the damage, both in her heart and in her town. She finds comfort in those around her, and as any good southern woman does, she also finds comfort in a well-baked dessert.

Ooey Gooey Butter Cake

Serves: 16 squares

Difficulty Level: As easy as turning on the oven



1 18 ¼ oz package of yellow cake mix

1 egg

8 tbsp butter, melted


1 8 oz package of cream cheese, softened

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

8 tbsp butter, melted

1 c powdered sugar

How to Make

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

  2. Combine the cake mix, egg, and butter. Mix well with an electric mixer. Pat the mixture into a lightly greased 9x13 baking dish.

  3. In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese until smooth. Scrape down the sides of the bowl.

  4. Add the eggs, vanilla, and butter, and beat together.

  5. With the mixer on low, add in the powdered sugar a little at a time to keep a cloud of sugar from forming and coating everything in your kitchen. Spread mixture over cake batter.

  6. Bake for 30-40 minutes. Make sure not to over bake the cake because the center should be a little gooey.

Recipe adapted from Paula Deen’s recipe.

The Baker's Man can be purchased in paperback or for the Kindle from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iBooks, and other major retailers.​

Chapter 1: Peanut Brittle

Chapter 2: Rum Cake

Chapter 4: Mudslide Cookies

Chapter 7: Blueberry Pie

Chapter 8: Lady Fingers

Chapter 9: Mirror Glaze

Chapter 11: Bear Claws

Chapter 16: Sugar Cookies

bottom of page